Third and fourth day at the ISG - Reisverslag uit Haren, Nederland van Suzanne Maat - WaarBenJij.nu Third and fourth day at the ISG - Reisverslag uit Haren, Nederland van Suzanne Maat - WaarBenJij.nu

Third and fourth day at the ISG

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Suzanne

11 Oktober 2018 | Nederland, Haren

Dear reader,

The internship at the international school is going well. I was crazy-busy yesterday, which is why I hadn’t uploaded any updates about that day. I interned with B.* yesterday. He teaches Physical Health and Education (PHE), not only to the ISG-pupils, but also to the TTO- and regular pupils. He already had a long-term intern, which was too bad for me, as there were not a lot of things left for me to do except for helping set the field up.
During the first two hours, pupils of MYP5 (who are around 16/17 years old) had to work on their projects. They had to make an instruction video on whatever sport they liked, from taekwando to free-running. It was interesting to see that the ones that were the more ‘’advanced athletes’’ didn’t mind helping the others out, which is something I don’t see that often. The PHE teacher told me that they also followed the IB-programme when it came to Physical Education, and that they really focused on the pupils being critical and being able to reflect on themselves and others. His statement was illustrated to me very well during the third and the fourth hour, when he taught MYP2 (pupils of the age of 12/13). The pupils of MYP2 had to work on throwing javelins. During their lesson, they had to video-record each other so that they could reflect on in afterwards. I believe that the self-reflecting and critical thinking are strong points of the IB-programme that was used during PHE.

Today I interned in the English classes with W. During the first three hours, the classes of W. were combined with the classes of C., another English teacher. W. teaches, if I recall correctly, English Language and Literature (for the pupils with a more ‘’advanced’’ level of English, e.g. because they are native speakers), whereas C. focusses more on English grammar and writing. The first class that came in, was the MYP2 class. They had to work on their projects: writing memoires. I recall finding it fascinating to see how the pupils (of just 12/13 years old) were not just focused on their own, individual project, but took initiative to help out other pupils. I believe that this says a lot about their mindset, and perhaps a strong point of the international school: they focus on the team, not just on the individual.

MYP4 (pupils around the age of 14) entered the class room at the start
of the second hour and started working on their projects (writing a script) immediately. And once again, it could be noted that they were not only focused on their individual projects, but on others as well. After the break, they continued working on their projects. Although there was not a lot for me to do, I found it interesting to see how the classes were working on their projects, and how two (completely different) teachers created a good lesson for them.

During the break, I talked to some teachers about the International School Groningen (ISG) and the way they teach. One of them told me about how he loved all the different cultures in his working place, and that he thought that all these different cultures made it a great place to work.
W. didn’t have to teach during the fourth hour, so I had a free period. During this hour, I sat down in the staff room, and I got asked by a member of the staff if I wanted to help her work out a new interior for the room, which was fun to do. After that, a second break began, during which I had a conversation with some of the teachers about gap years and travelling. What struck me was that most of them said, even encouraged me, that I should take a gap year after doing my exams. I’ve had the same conversation at my school, but the outcome was completely different. I think that the teachers at the ISG are not ‘’scared’’ to set their students free, let them work independently, and let go of a bit of control, whereas at my school, the teacher are sort of set on keeping every pupil in check.

During the fifth and sixth hour, W. taught the MYP4 class (14/15 years old). I could notice that the project they had to write on indeed required a more advanced level of English, which was interesting to see. Teamwork and different perspectives got encouraged throughout the lesson.
I believe that this was an interesting day and I learned a lot more about both the ISG, and working in an international organization. Tomorrow will be my last day as an intern already, and of course I’m curios as to what I’ll see, learn and do.


*full names won't be used.

Tags: TTO, internship

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Suzanne

Experiences during my international internship at the International School Groningen.

Actief sinds 08 Okt. 2018
Verslag gelezen: 67
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2077

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Oktober 2018 - 31 December 2018

Mijn eerste reis

08 Oktober 2018 - 12 Oktober 2018

International Internship

Landen bezocht: