First day as an intern at the ISG - Reisverslag uit Haren, Nederland van Suzanne Maat - WaarBenJij.nu First day as an intern at the ISG - Reisverslag uit Haren, Nederland van Suzanne Maat - WaarBenJij.nu

First day as an intern at the ISG

Door: Suzanne ter Maat

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Suzanne

08 Oktober 2018 | Nederland, Haren

Dear reader,

To complete my bilingual education, I had to complete an internship at an international organization. What organization would be more appropriate to do this than an international school? At this school, all students come from different places around the world, and therefore, English is the used language.
About two weeks ago, I met with S.*, the person that showed me around and that created a schedule for me. Today was the first day of that schedule.
I arrived at the school at 07:50, 10 minutes early for my meeting with S. She introduced me to the teacher of Dutch, M., with whom I’d intern the entire day. The first lesson she taught was to a bunch of 12 year olds, who already had some knowledge of the Dutch language. They had to work on a project; creating an eco-friendly dreamhouse, and it was absolutely amusing to see the ideas these kids came up with (“I will build a windmill on my house”, for example).
The second class started at 09:15, they were a bit younger than the previous group as they were still learning the basics of Durch, for example by doing a talking exercise.
The first break started at around 10:00, and it was fun to see how almost all the employees talked English to each other.
During the lesson after that, I taught a few 14-year olds the basics of Dutch, which was quite fun to do, as I’m so used to children being able to speak Dutch when they live here. After this hour, M. had a spare hour, so I had one too.
The last lesson I observed was quite simple; kids working behind their laptops on some project.
After chatting some more with the teachers, I tried to locate the busstop (and succeeded), and went home. I’m looking forward to tomorrow, as I’ll be in the Design class, something I’m quite curious about.

*Full names won't be used.

Tags: internship, TTO

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Suzanne

Experiences during my international internship at the International School Groningen.

Actief sinds 08 Okt. 2018
Verslag gelezen: 100
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2077

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Oktober 2018 - 31 December 2018

Mijn eerste reis

08 Oktober 2018 - 12 Oktober 2018

International Internship

Landen bezocht: