Second day at the international school - Reisverslag uit Haren, Nederland van Suzanne Maat - WaarBenJij.nu Second day at the international school - Reisverslag uit Haren, Nederland van Suzanne Maat - WaarBenJij.nu

Second day at the international school

Door: Suzanne ter Maat

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Suzanne

09 Oktober 2018 | Nederland, Haren

Dear reader,

Today, 9th of Octber, I interned with D.* in Design classes (in the main building), it was... interesting, to say the least.
The first class that came in was the first grade (TTO), and they had to create a kind of “pen holder”. In order to do this, they had to use a lot of tools and thus walk around a lot, which made the lesson of two hours quite chaotic. I questioned some of the students about what they thought about TTO and internationalisation, and assisted them where I could.
After a break, the third hour started. D. introduced me to the class of second-graders as “Suzanne, a psychologist/scientist that works at the university, she’s here today to see the behaviour of students in high school with regard to their mobile phones, because she’s working on an app that registers when a kid enters in school, and will give him/her a shock if he/she touches her phone during the lesson..” This was quite amusing, as the students actually fell for the story. The students had to work on designing a mobile phone holder. The first hour and a half D. taught, consisted mainly of theory, and during the last half hour, the students could work on their projects.
Simone had planned for me to intern with D. until 14:00 hours, but D. told me he was free already. As I had nothing left to do, I went back to the “ISG building”, and asked around for S., so we could discuss what to do next. Unfortunately, she was in a meeting, so I was unable to do anything, as all classes had already started and no teacher was expecting me. After exploring the international school a bit more, I went to the teacher’s room to wait for S. Forutnately there were some teachers with a “spare hour” who were willing to talk about their experience with teaching at an international school, which was interesting to hear about.
After about 45 minutes of waiting, the teachers told me that I could go home, and that they’d let S. know.
Tomorrow I’ll be interning in the Physical Health and Education class, and I’m wondering what that will be like.


*Full names won't be used.

Tags: internship, TTO

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Suzanne

Experiences during my international internship at the International School Groningen.

Actief sinds 08 Okt. 2018
Verslag gelezen: 54
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2077

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Oktober 2018 - 31 December 2018

Mijn eerste reis

08 Oktober 2018 - 12 Oktober 2018

International Internship

Landen bezocht: